Select a language from the menu please


The Seychelles was well known to Indian and Arab navigators. In 1502, during Vasca da Gama's second voyage to India, they were discovered by Europeans in 1609. The islands were thoroughly surveyed and described by the English expedition of A. Sharpey. In the 17th and 18th centuries, the Seychelles served as a haven for pirates. In 1756, after a survey by three expeditions of the French captain L. Picot, the archipelago was declared a possession of France and was named La Bourdonnais in honor of the governor who organized Picot's voyages. Ile-de-France (Mauritius) B. F. Mahe de La Bourdonnais, later renamed the Seychelles after the French Minister of Finance J. M. de Sechel (the name of the governor of La Bourdonnais is preserved for the main island of the archipelagoga Mae). Since the 1770s, the French from the Mascarene Islands began to move to the Seychelles. In the Seychelles, the development of plantation farming began: cinnamon, cloves, vanilla were cultivated, and the importation of slaves from the slave markets of Madagascar and the East African coast began.

In 1794, the archipelago was captured by the British and, according to the Paris Peace Treaty of 1814, was officially assigned to Great Britain. In 1835, after the abolition of slavery, a large number of Indians, Chinese and Arabs immigrated to the Seychelles from Mauritius. In 1840. Seychelles was administratively attached to the British colony of Mauritius. And in 1903 they were separated into a separate crown colony. In the first half of the 20th century, the country's economy, which was based on the export of cinnamon, copra and guano, experienced a period of stagnation, and the population began to outflow to Arab countries, Australia, and East African states.

1964-the time of the first political parties in the Seychelles: the United Party of the Seychelles People led by F. A. Rene, the Seychelles Democratic Party led by J. Mancham. In 1965. Great Britain cut off the Seychelles islands: Aldabra, Farquhar, Desroches, which together with the Chagos archipelago formed the British territory in the Indian Ocean. In 1970. In the context of the growing independence movement, a local Legislative Assembly with 15 elected members was created, and the post of First Minister (J. Manchem) was established. On June 29, 1976, the independent Republic of Seychelles was proclaimed; the islands of Aldabra, Farquhar, and Desroches were transferred to it.

According to the results of the parliamentary elections, the majority of seats was won by the Seychelles Democratic Party, J. Manchem became Prime Minister. In 1977, as a result of an armed coup, the United Party of the Seychelles People came to power, renamed the Progressive Front of the Seychelles People in 1978. F. A. Rene became the President of the country, then he was re-elected in 1979, 1984, 1989, 1993, 1998, 2001. In accordance with the law adopted in 1979. The Constitution established a one-party system in the country, and the Seychelles was declared a "sovereign socialist republic". Under pressure from the opposition, a multi-party system was introduced in the country in 1992, and the ruling party abandoned its Marxist ideology. In 1993, a new Constitution was adopted.
Successful economic reforms, GDP growth, and the development of the tourism business ensured a stable political situation, and the United Party of the Seychelles People, led by Rene, continued to seek victory in the parliamentary and presidential elections.
After the resignation of F. A. Rene in 2004, Vice-President J. A. Michel became the head of state. In 2009, the United Seychelles People's Party was renamed the People's Party, and the Seychelles Democratic Party was renamed the New Democratic Party.
Diplomatic relations between the Russian Federation and the Soviet Union were established on June 30, 1976. Mutual trade turnover is $ 6.4 million (2019); Russia exports petroleum products, machinery and equipment, and imports fish, seafood, and spices.


About 76% of the population are Catholics, about 10% are adherents of various Protestant denominations (Anglicans, Pentecostals, Seventh-day Adventists, etc.), 2% are Hindus, 2% are Muslims, and adherents of other faiths are small in number.